Gun Control | Crime In America

Time To Get Loud About Crazy People With Guns Shooting Children

Americans need to wake up to the reality that being rude is the only way to prevent more shootings.

Joshua Edward
9 min readMay 31, 2022

--

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Less than a year before I moved away from the USA, police raided a nearby house and discovered an arsenal of guns and homemade explosives that were locked away in a bedroom closet. Scrawled on a handwritten letter, meant to serve as a suicide note, were the disturbing words that declared:

“The daughters come, and I am ready. I have fed on my hatred for centuries. My fury at those who imprisoned me shall be vast and without mercy. I shall have my bloody revenge, and then the WORLD WILL BURN BURN.”

No typos there, that is exactly how the 24-year-old Randall Drake penned a memo of seething hate and contempt for the entire world.

At the time of his arrest, Drake lived with his parents in Pinellas County, Florida, just a short drive from where I lived at the time with my six-year-old daughter. Upon realizing what their son had been up to, Drake’s family said that, while they knew that Randall had owned a few guns, they simply had no idea that he was in possession of an entire arsenal.

--

--

Joshua Edward

Left the USA for Europe as a solo parent and raised a kid in a foreign land.